life insurance - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-10-2007, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a couple questions about life insurance. The first is how much coverage do you need? I seem to remember some formula for it-maybe X times your income?? My only concern is that the coverage appears to only go up to 150K which sounds low to me. That wouldn't even pay off our mortgage if something happened to dh.

Second, for those who buy their own, whats a good price? DH isn't offerred life insurance through work and we just got a flier in the mail from our credit union. The prices seem to be about 15/month for both of us-does that sound resonable or way out of whack? I'm 31, dh is 41 and we don't smoke/in good health.

TIA!

Lisa, mama to A (3/05) and R (11/07) and L (8/10)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2007, 10:07 PM

I'm no expert, but I'm happy to tell you what we do. DH is able to get insurance 1x his salary from work for free, and 3x if we pay (and its cheap), so we do that. We then supplement the 3x from work with another 17x his salary from a private company. We have the same amount of life insurance on me (20x Dh's salary) as on him. We also have supplemental disability for DH, so he gets 60% of his salary through the disability from work, we have a seperate policy that would add another 20%.