Irresponsible to consider with student loan debt? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 01-19-2008, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am looking for honest feedback.

Currently, DH and I both work full-time to pull in about $4,000 take home a month. DH's salary with double this year to 52K gross and I've been toying with the idea of quitting my FT job (looking for PT or otherwise bringing in some money) to get my health in order and get pregnant. Even without the health/TTC time cushion I want to be a SAHM/WAHM.

My issue is that I have an advanced degree, I spent 7 years ay university and paid for most of it through working but a lot through loans as well. I have about $77K in consolidated federal loans (private loans have been paid off already). Currently, they are in forbearance and come due again in December 2008.

I don't thinking that being a SAHM is a "waste of my education" as I've been told before, and DH and I can live off of his salary, but I still feel, irresponsible? I always thought I would be a single, working woman, not married and wanting a baby, something pretty new for me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 20 Old 01-19-2008, 10:54 AM

are you going to pay the loans? If so then I don't see what difference it makes. Lots of people with advanced degrees stay home.

Not sure I understand why you would quit your job when you're not even pregnant though. Personally that wouldn't sit right with me (to have my husband carry the full household financial burden). Not understanding why you can't work and get healthy?

Anyway just my .02c

DS (6.06), DD (10.08), DD (05.11).

#3 of 20 Old 01-19-2008, 11:06 AM