Cashing out IRA to become eligible for food stamps? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 03-04-2008, 11:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, hear me out...

were it not for my IRA, the online calculator suggests I'd be eligible for $452/month in FS.

I'm a newly separated, single, student mama. I'm taking the medical school prerequisites, and if I am successful and get into med school, I will be a student for at least the next 6 years. I currently work VERY p/t, 2-3 hours/week for a professor. I'm unlikely to have any sort decent-paying job during the time I'm a student b/c of the demands of my program and all the other stuff one has to do to prepare for applying to med school (research, MCATs, etc).

My IRA has less than $10K, I'm thinking just shy of $9K (I'd have to check). I have $40K+ in a 401k which apparently will not affect my eligibility.

My family is helping with housing, bills, etc., but FS would be an ENORMOUS help. I will get child support but not much for this area (high cost of living) b/c he doesn't make much.

So...is it a crazy idea?
#2 of 23 Old 03-04-2008, 11:49 PM
WNB

I don't understand why a 401(k) would be handled differently from an IRA, since you have the same penalties for cashing out. If the 401(k) doesn't affect eligibility, I'd contact someone in person -- either govt official or a social services organization that would know how to advocate on your behalf -- to get a more expert opinion before taking the hit and cashing out the IRA.

THe other question is what you would do with the proceeds of the IRA -- from my brief review of FS eligibility, you can only have $2K in a bank account, and your car has to be below a certain value. The worst outcome would be that you cash out the IRA, pay the penalty, and end up sabotaging your eligibility anyway.