I was visiting my parents and... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 133 Old 06-20-2008, 02:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my whole family was around the table talking about the economy and how times have changed over the course of our lives. My dad says: "I don't know anyone who can make it with only one spouse working. You just can't do that anymore." This gave me great pleasure to point out that DH and I have been doing it for two years (our whole marriage). It was really funny to me because I don't think people look at us and think that we make sacrifices for that. We have a nice home, but it's sensibly sized and in an inexpensive location. We drive nice cars, but they're purchased used. We look fashionable, but don't buy name brand clothes. Our son dresses the best of all of us and his clothes are all hand-me downs and yard sale finds. We use cloth diapers, but the average person couldn't tell. We eat out every week, but the rest of the time I cook from scratch and hunt for food bargains. We keep our processed food to a min, which keeps our food bill at a min. We take vacations, but we stay at Christian retreats instead of hotels. There we also cook our own meals, and then we can afford to do more things while we're there.
It really gave me a proud feeling to know that we don't stand out as disadvantaged to others. I like knowing that we fit right in as we all sit around the table and talk. When I meet people who say "you're so lucky that you get to stay home!" They never know until I tell them, and I always tell them they can do it too.