Where do you keep your emergency fund? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, I'm about to the point where DH and I are going to start stocking away for a 6 month emergency fund. Partly, I'd like this money as a security blanket but partly we want to transition from me working PT and DH working FT to one of us working PT out of the house and both of us working at home (we blog and we both have careers we're trying to grow - I'm a photographer, he's a writer). Hopefully we'll be able to transition seamlessly without needing the funds but I want them there in case.

Finally, the question: Where do you put all that money? It seems like there must be a place other than a checking or savings account that will earn more interest but I want to have it available if we need it. How can I make this money grow if I'm not using it?

Should I have 3 months in a savings account and have the other 3 months more tied up at a higher interest rate but accessible should we run out of the first 3 months? HELP!

Thanks in advance!

Unschooling mama to one 5 year old DD.
#2 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 02:10 PM

Interest rates aren't too good right now, but a money market account will get you the best rate. You can see who has the best rates right now at http://www.bankrate.com
#3 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 02:25 PM

You can "ladder" CD's. Essentially, you break the total amount into parts. Keep 1 portion liquid in a money market or internet savings account (both are getting around 3-4% right now). Then buy CDs with the remainder so that a portion becomes available again every month (or few months). This keeps the money available, but also allows you to potentially get a higher interest rate.

If this isn't clear, PM me.

Happy wife to DH superhero.gifand mama to DS signcirc1.gif11/05 and DD energy.gif8/07.
#4 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 02:25 PM

: