frozen meatloaf right into the oven? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 05-07-2009, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I want to be able to make up meatloafs ahead of time and freeze them. I want to be able to take them right from the freezer directly into the oven, as I don't want to have to plan ahead and take them out of the freezer the night before.

Can I do this? Would I put them in the freezer raw? I've never done feed the freezer meals before but would like to. The most I do is put a container of left overs in the freezer to take to work to put in the microwave for my lunch, which is a whole 'nother thing.

TIA,
Tracy

Rockin' mama to Allison (9), Asher (5) and Alethea (3), head over heels in love with my sexy husband, Tony.

#2 of 12 Old 05-09-2009, 02:40 PM

sub'in :
#3 of 12 Old 05-09-2009, 04:26 PM

I'd do it but it will likely take a lot longer to cook. Ideally, it would spend the day in the fridge before going in the oven.

dust.gif & superhero.gif :: 9/2004
#4 of 12 Old 05-10-2009, 06:53 PM

Since it would have to cook longer, I would suggest a piece of foil over it to keep from getting too brown.

I say go for it!

Anne, Mama to Conner 2/27/04 blahblah.gif  Gabrielle 2/6/06 W/LMC-TCS, Neurogenic Bladder, AFO & KAFO wearer, Neurogenic Bowel energy.gif & Delaney 5/12/08 mischievous.gif &  Beethoven cat.gif& Gizmo cat.gif

#5 of 12 Old 05-10-2009, 11:08 PM

Definitely post back & let us know how long the cooking time was!!! If you have a microwave with a defrost feature it'd probably cut down the cooking time consderably.

Every time I make meatloaf I freeze a couple raw prepared loafs, 1-2 family sized & 1-2 mini loafs (for "microwave dinners"). I take the big ones out a day ahead, though, & cook them normally. It's a fantastic meal to have in the freezer. Comfort food at its finest!