questions about freezing meat - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 07-16-2009, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Most of the meat that we eat we have delivered, it comes frozen. Can I defrost the meat, make freezer meals and throw them in the freezer or is this a no no as far as food safety? I have been waiting for our next delivery to start freezer meals for when this baby arrives but now I am questioning my big plan

Another question, I found a marinade that all of my kids like for chicken drumsticks. When I bought those from the store they weren't frozen, I am not sure if they had been previously. My question is can I marinate the chicken pieces and put them in the freezer at that point or do I need to cook them first? If I don't have to cook them I assume I can take them out and let them defrost in the fridge and bake as normal?

Thanks for your help, I am new to freezer cooking but so desperately need to do it so we don't fall into our usual fastfood/takeout rut when I am post partum and too tired to prepare meals.

Warmly,
Erin

Erin : ~~ unschooling mama to DD (12) , DS (11) :, DS (8) and DS (3) , DD Soleil Emily Meadow (9-18-09) born at home in the water
#2 of 6 Old 07-16-2009, 05:59 PM

I have no idea what the food safety standards say, but I do this all the time - thaw meat and freeze the cooked result. I don't know why it wouldn't be ok ?? I never even thought that it wouldn't be.
#3 of 6 Old 07-17-2009, 02:32 AM

You can freeze the meat again after it's been cooked. But you can't thaw raw meat, marinade it, and refreeze it without cooking it first.

Oops, apparently I was wrong! From USDA:

Refreezing