Chicken recipes? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 09-15-2009, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been eating chicken for a couple of years now after being vegetarian. Initially my dh was still vegetarian, so I always just baked a chicken breast on the side. Dh is now eating chicken too but we still always seem to just bake it on the side (very different from our vegetarian cooking -we're pretty adventurous!). I still only have vegetarian cookbooks though and I don't really know where to start with incorporating chicken. I've put it in pasta and made chicken tacos, but I need something more hmm..... interesting I guess.
#2 of 4 Old 09-18-2009, 03:39 PM

Quesadillas: We cook the chicken in a slow cooker. Then you just make up quesadillas with whatever you want in them. (Chicken, cheese, veggies, salsa..etc)

Chicken Pesto: Another easy favorite. Cook the chicken in a slow cooker. Buy the Knorr Pesto Sauce Mix. Chop up the chicken to bite sized pieces and add it to the pasta and sauce.

Chicken Fried Rice: There are numerous recipes online. Just find the one you like.

Chicken Tortilla Soup: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chicken...-V/Detail.aspx

Lacquered Chicken: (recent favorite) http://www.recipezaar.com/Lacquered-...n-Wings-127394

lol I have a couple more but I'd have to bust out the recipe books.

Kas (24), Helpmeet to Stefan (25), Mom to Franklin Gaudelio 4/15/09, Jonathan Boswell 1/2/11
#3 of 4 Old 09-18-2009, 05:08 PM

Personally, I'm not a fan of the texture of chicken cooked in the crockpot. It's too soft for me. So, for including chicken in any and all recipes, I bake it first, then shred it, then incorporate it into recipes.

Some ways we like chicken:

-fried (what can I say; I'm from Georgia)
-in chicken and rice casserole
-in chicken tettrazini
-thin cutlets (Top Chef calls them paillards) cooked with a pan sauce. Something like piccata or even just stock and a bit of orange juice.