in need of help with groceries/meal planning - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-10-2010, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I am a first time mom, staying at home with my DD who is now 3 1/2 months. I have VERY little experience in the kitchen and with meal planning, and I want to start to make things run more smoothly, cheaply and healthy for my new little family. But I have no idea where to start. I have a few questions and would appreciate some help getting the hang of things.

1. What do you have in your pantry? My pantry is pretty much empty- I don't even know where to begin

2. Any sources for simple recipes? I have limited time and cooking ability so far but want to make tasty healthy meals- that are quick because I have little to no patience for standing over a stove.

3. How do you know what is a good price on fruit, veggies, meat? I know everyone says "shop the sales". but how do you know if the sale price is any good?

4. When it comes to meal planning what is the best way to start?

5. I want to start buying the majority of our groceries at the local farmers market rather than the grocery store- what do I need in terms of storage to keep things fresh and the kitchen bug free?

Thanks for any tips!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-10-2010, 04:20 PM

Well - I have little experience with the Farmers Market - it IS difficult to keep things fresh when they come from there -
After going to the grocery store on the same day, once a week for twenty - something years, i KNOW what a good price is for my area. - You will too, maybe bring along a notebook and note the price of the same product 4 - 6 weeks in a row - you will notice it may dip once in that time frame - now you know 'the best price'!