Disgusted! I just inventoried ALL food I have- I'm new to meal planning, someone wanna take a stab and gain a loyal protege? (Veg*n) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-03-2011, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Here's the deal.  It's just me.  And my 4.5 yo dd.  She is finally at an age where cooking for "us" might remotely make sense.  (No big fancy dinners here - I can only feed the freezer so much... and eat the same thing for so long.)

For about 3 years now I've been simplifying, reducing - becoming more minimalist.  I've ignored the food in my home.  I knew I had TONS of food on hand but really - it's disturbing.  I'm embarrassed to admit to how much I have.  I created an Excel spreadsheet and wrote out EVERYTHING in my kitchen (except for spices and fresh fruits/veggies/milk/cheese/eggs/butter).  There's over 150 rows!!!!  And that doesn't count 2 of something. 

Seriously, I hope I never say I have nothing to eat again - this is humbling and embarrassing.

I like to cook but a) I'm way out of practice (just the 2 of us) and b) I've never been organized enough to PLAN.  I want to do that now.  Oh, I work from home but full-time. 

You all are SO creative.  I'm wondering (embarrassed) if any of you mamas wants to take a stab based on the insanity that is my food inventory?  I'm thinking a kick start will a) get me going, b) clear out this mass amount of food, and c) help ME learn how to piece meals together, plan, be more organized and deliberate in how I feed MY "family".  I've always envied you mamas that can look in 3 different areas of your kitchen/grocery store and pull something together.  I'm one of those.... "apples are in front of me.  Ok, we'll have apples and.... peanut butter?"  Since it was just my daughter and me and she ate so little and requested so much fruit and veggies, I just haven't been inspired to really cook.  Until now.