new wife/mother looking for help in the kitchen:) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-14-2011, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a whole chicken in the fridge and dry beans in the cupboard. I usually make chili out of ground beef/turkey or chicken but don't know where to start with a whole chicken. Any thoughts would be of great benefit to our little/hungry family of four:) This is my first time posting, so I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right thread, but I love all the fresh new meal ideas...just what I needed:)

#2 of 7 Old 03-14-2011, 04:25 PM

Hello! Have you considered roasting the chicken whole? You can get many meals out of a roasted chicken. Cook it at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes a pound, until the joint area of the leg bone is no longer red. You can also use a meat thermometer. Chicken is done at 180 degrees farenheit, checking where the leg connects to the bird. After you are through with eating the roast, pull off all the leftover meat and reserve it for sandwiches, stir-fries, adding to soups etc. Take the bones and leftover fat, skin, etc and place them in a big pot. Cover with water and simmer for at least 4 hours, but it can really go for longer. You will end up with a nutritious stock to make soup with. I hope some of this was useful. Congrats on your family! 

#3 of 7 Old 03-19-2011, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

thank you for the great advice...I roasted the chicken and made chicken enchiladas out of the breast...used the dark meat the second night and made a bean/veggie/chicken soup/chili type meal and used those leftovers the third night wrapped in a tortilla with lettuce and veggies on the side...for a grand total of three wholesome dinners all with one $5 chicken:) Score!!

#4 of 7 Old 03-20-2011, 04:02 PM

That all sounds great! I'm glad I could help!

#5 of 7 Old 03-20-2011, 04:09 PM