Can you freeze without ziploc bags? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 04-05-2011, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is there another effective way to store things without using the bags? I will give in & use them if I have to (and I know I can wash & reuse them) but I'd really love to avoid it if possible!! I tried tupperware & that didn't work so well...

Co-sleeping is really wonderful when your child actually SLEEPS!! familybed1.gif
#2 of 19 Old 04-06-2011, 06:16 AM

We actually use mason jars.  Be sure to leave room for expansion. 

'09   
#3 of 19 Old 04-14-2011, 01:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xantho View Post

We actually use mason jars.  Be sure to leave room for expansion. 

Yes! I have been freezing foods in various sized jars for a couple of years now. It works great! You can use store type jars or mason jars. Leave a LOT of room for expansion, especially for liquids. If in doubt freeze without the lid and add it after the food is frozen.

You can also freeze meats and perhaps other solid items in butcher paper.

Rhianna

#4 of 19 Old 04-14-2011, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter

OK I'm a bit terrified to try it... picturing broken glass all over my freezer!!! But it sounds better than all that ziploc...

Co-sleeping is really wonderful when your child actually SLEEPS!! familybed1.gif
#5 of 19 Old 04-14-2011, 02:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhianna813 View Post

Yes! I have been freezing foods in various sized jars for a couple of years now. It works great! You can use store type jars or mason jars. Leave a LOT of room for expansion, especially for liquids. If in doubt freeze without the lid and add it after the food is frozen.

You can also freeze meats and perhaps other solid items in butcher paper.

Rhianna

sorry, im gonna thread crash - what about freezer burn? and how long can meat in butcher paper last? 

Coffee, Vintage and Kids.  My Life.