Anybody not find meal planning helpful? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-14-2011, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have been going back and forth for years on whether meal planning is beneficial for me or not. I read article after article saying how much time and money it saves, but I have not found that to be the case for me. I am wondering if I am doing something wrong. Here is what I do. I refer to all of my recipes sources, which includes online sites and cookbooks, and I will pick out what sounds good for the week or find which recipes are cheap and easy. I write down the recipes for each day (usually just dinner) for one week. But what ends up happening is I end up having to buy MORE ingredients for all these recipes instead of just using what I already have. Also, I get overwhelmed by looking at so many different recipes. They all sound so yummy. I am not good at staying with the same meals each week. I love to cook and am always trying new recipes.

Wouldn't it just be easier to go to the store on a weekly basis and only buy your staples that you may have run out of and then whatever is on sale, such as meats and veggies and fruits?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2011, 09:22 AM

I let my pantry/freezer guide my menu planning.  Maybe that would help you?

I shop very frugally, buy in bulk, utilize an extra freezer and a vacu-sealer. So when chicken is on sale I stock up, same with cheese and other meats, beans, grains, etc. All of these things save me a lot of money. So when I do my weekly menu planning I take inventory of my pantry and build a menu around that.  This usually means I am just buying fresh produce on a weekly basis.