Anyone canning their harvest? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 09-20-2005, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Its that time again- I am being attacked by my tomato garden :LOL .

We have boiled 7 potfuls of tomatos and made two pots of sauce. So its time to can all this sauce and also whole tomatos since I am out of romm in the fridge and freezer.

Anyone else canning? If yes what are canning and how?

"The true joy of life is the trip. The station is only a dream. It constantly out distances us."
#2 of 13 Old 09-20-2005, 05:57 PM

I'm a canning newbie, but I've been doing a little this year with my MIL. We belong to a CSA which specializes in berries, so we made a TON of raspberry jam in the summer. We also just made a bunch of tomato sauce from the millions (ok not millions but it seems like it!) of tomatoes she has growing in her yard. I don't have a yard where I can grow anything, so I haven't canned anything else besides those 2 things. We just had so much tomatoes and raspberries that we HAD to can them. I've been freezing a few of our leftover veggies each week from the CSA. Also making lots of extra of squash casserole, chopped greens, etc and freezing for winter.

Its kinda fun to put things away for the wintertime. I've never done anything like that before, but I'm really looking forward to being able to have some yummy stuff that I've worked hard on in January!

~Rebecca~
mama to a sweet girl , & 4 silly boys

#3 of 13 Old 09-20-2005, 05:57 PM

I'm in the same boat with the tomatoes, and I want to ask you how you made the sauce. I'd like to make some also.
TIA

Vegan, mom to : Joe and Josh ::
#4 of 13 Old 09-20-2005, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter

sauce is easy. After you boil the tomatos to get off the skin, drain them to get rid of extra water.