Horrible planner - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-12-2006, 11:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi ladies.
I am horrible at planning. Really, really horrible. I also work in retail, which means I have an extremely variable work schedule, and that just overwhelms me trying to plan around.

However, I have come to realize that I can save my family a lot of money by PLANNING MEALS, and actually cooking them.

I went through a phase where I was cooking about 4 days of brown rice at once and keeping it in the fridge, but again, that takes planning.

I guess I should first ask, how do you go about developing the habit of planning? And do any of you work with retail shifts, and if so, how do you work around it?

Any suggestions I could try would be very helpful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2006, 11:57 PM

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
My planning goes like this:

I grocery shop once a week. On that day I sit down with my notebook paper & a coupla cook books. I peruse the books & ask the kids what they're in the mood for this week. On the right hand side of the paper I write down the meal & the page# the recipe's on. On the left side of the paper I write down my grocery list, including of course anything the recipe calls for that I don't have.

Then I shop! Then each day/night when it's time to make a meal, I pull out my list (I keep it folded in the cupboard next to the cook books) & scan the list of meals I chose & pick which one I'm in the mood for.

The biggest trouble I ever have is when I somehow lose my list after I shop! Then I forget what I heck I bought all those ingredients for!!

North Idaho rural living  mama to: 23 yo DD, 16 yo DS, 8 yo DS, 6 yo DS, 4 yr old DS, 2 yo DD, and 1 yo DS. And someone new coming this Christmas!
Old 04-13-2006, 12:10 AM