I need post-partum freezer meal ideas - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,

I'm new here and have been checking out these forums over the past week or so. I figured now would be good time to jump in and start posting I am due with my third child on June 1st, and I would really like to start making some whole foods type meals that I can freeze for after baby's birth. I am not good at this! The only thing that comes to mind readily for me is pasta dishes LOL We are not vegetarian, and I try to serve my family foods made from whole foods. Any ideas? Has this allready been discussed? Thanks!

Kirsten
#2 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 11:19 AM

This is an awesome recipe that freezes well http://mothering.com/sections/recipe...nchiladas.html
#3 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 11:28 AM

Hi Kirsten,

Welcome to MDC and congratulations on your baby!

I just had a new baby in January, and spent much of last fall nesting and cooking meals for our freezer. So let's see how much my addled Mommy Brain can remember!

chicken dijon
beef stroganoff
chili
minestrone
calzones
black bean burritoes
enchilada casserole
lasagna
chicken pot pie filling
beef stew
sweet potato and black bean stew
cheesy scalloped potatoes and ham

I also froze a lot of meal constituents, like pizza dough, browned ground beef, cooked chicken, sauteed vegetables, hash browns, homemade muffins, bread, waffles, pancakes, cornbread, etc. -- so that some of the work was done for me. You could even freeze meal "kits" -- like pizza dough, some sauteed vegs, homemade sauce, and grated cheese, all frozen separately.

And yup, it has been discussed before, so do a search (maybe "freezer cooking" or "OAMC") or just browse through the threads for many more ideas.

HTH!
#4 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter