May Pantry Challenge? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 36 Old 05-01-2006, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wow! I made it through April spending less than $100 at the grocery store and that included diapers!

C'mon y'all! How far into May can you make it without buying anything for your pantry or cupboards?

My personal rules are: meat, dairy, bread and fresh fruits/veges are ok.

My personal goals: 1) bake bread, don't buy it! 2) don't buy any more meat for 2 weeks.

Anyone else??

ex-Californian, making my way on the East Coast with DS (10), DS (6) and WAHDH. Former extended BF'er, co-sleeper, and baby-wearer. Remembering how to garden.

#2 of 36 Old 05-01-2006, 09:33 PM

I will give it a shot.
I saw the April pantry challenge too late (like last Friday) but I started then anyway.
I've never done it before, but here goes
#3 of 36 Old 05-02-2006, 10:46 AM

I will partly join as well!

We just moved into or own flat almost 8 weeks ago but my pantry is (taking the moving fact in consideration) quite well stocked which suprised my husband a lot on our first evening on our own I *am* the master of lists and the things I write on there are always ticked off when I got/finished them
Yet in those past weeks I found myself making way to many small trips to the grocery store and always getting more than previously having planned to which made me really mad! I made some resolutions with myself to prevent those things - there will be some out-of-plan spending like tomorrow when my bagels arrive (as a German I think that I could never make them as delicious as the bakery in Berlin who delivers them to my door!!!) but that's ok as they will surely last me for 3+ months!

Here are my resolutions:
- making some kind of meal plan on tuesday, when my box of organic fruit and veggies is deliverd. They usually last us until the next delivery though we *might* by some extras