Grind your grains? homemade bread? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 07-30-2006, 12:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, so I'm completely new to this topic but it interests me!!!

Does anyone grind their own grains to make homemade bread? How does this process work?

Where do you buy your grains? Can it be any kind of grain?

Any information will be helpful, Thanks!
#2 of 13 Old 07-30-2006, 05:20 PM

Hi Kmecke,

I grind my own wheat. It works just the same as baking bread with flour from the store except that it rises better because the flour is already warm.
The bread is much more nutrious since the wheat hasn't lost any between grinding and using.
I use a grain called prairie gold wheat, but any hard winter wheat red or white will work. Also Spelt and Kamut can be used although I have never tried as they are expensive. The higher the gluten content the better the loaf. I buy my wheat through a co-op in 50# bags. Any health food store should sell it in their bulk section, I would start with 5 pounds.
Other grains can be used in addition to the wheat but you need to make adjustments for the differnt types.
The first bread baking book I bought was Sue Gregg's Yeast Breads, which has alot of the questions answered it was written so that children can learn to cook.
#3 of 13 Old 08-01-2006, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you for the help?

I have tried to find a place where I can buy the book you mentioned with no luck. Where did you get your copy?
#4 of 13 Old 08-03-2006, 12:56 AM

I also grind the grain and cook ww bread. I find The Laurel's Kitchen Bread Book very helpful for whole grain bread baking. Its very comprehensive and walks one through the process of whole grain bread baking step by step. Their Desem bread is simply the best bread I've ever tasted.