I am in AWE. How do you START?! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-04-2008, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay, I am totally enamored of the benefits of meal planning.

Currently we have a "loaded larder" - something I'm not very good at incorporating into a specific meal plan.

How? Is there a website or something (tips/hints from y'all?) that will help me use what I have before I go out and buy more?

We too, are stuck in the meat/starch/veggie routine... we have a lot of frozen fish and meat (the fish being the icky VanDeCamps stuff). We also have frozen veggies. My prob at the moment is I'm DEAD SICK AND TIRED of winging it, opting for shake-and-bake chicken with frozen green beans and bread, with cottage cheese and salad as pretty much dinner staples around here. SICK AND TIRED of this food routine. Craving something new.

But we still have plenty of cottage cheese and salad in the fridge. DH won't mind eating it, but I certainly at this point (pretty much as of last night) am in revolt. I just want CHANGE.

But HOW? WHERE TO START? I'm not even sure what I'm craving! (besides fresh, rare-grilled salmon )

SAHM to Chloe (02/28/08) & Samantha (10/06/10)... not quite crunchy - think of us as al dente, finding our way to self-sustainability & full-out crunchy living ... trial and error, one day at a time! 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-04-2008, 03:48 PM

Then I'd start there. Get some salmon and eat it, Or if it's too costly, try a different fish and cook it with spices you love. (Frozen fish is fine...not fab, but it can be dealt with. Or are you talking about the breaded stuff? Although I wouldn't throw it out...how many meals of the breaded stuff do you have left?)

Instead of shake and bake, make something closer to whole. Instead of peas, roast or steam some asparagus. Instead of white rice have wild or basmati. (Buying in bulk will save you money).