Don't know how to use spices - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-29-2008, 12:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a pretty good cook. I can usually just throw random things together in the kitchen and something delicious will come out. But I tend to use pre-made sauces and spice mixes to season my food. Now I have a little baby, and he's been having reactions (rash and reflux) so I'm heading towards a whole foods diet, and needing to learn to cook all over again. And I've realized I don't know how to use spices on my own.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a book or website that might have charts of what spices go well with what foods? Or something like that? I'm getting really tired of eating everything with just salt, pepper, and non-dairy spread.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-05-2008, 02:17 AM

I don't know of any sites or books that will tell you what goes well with what, but I can say that a few years ago my spice rack consisted of salt, pepper, lemon pepper and thyme. Now I have tons of spices and I just experiment. Things I've noticed are yummy:

Good in pretty much anything:
Garlic powder, salt, pepper, sage,thyme

Good in pork:
sage, thyme, rosemary, cinnamon

Good in gr. beef:
anything, but I like ginger a lot in beef. I also love the ginger/cinnamon combo. Celery seed, chineese five spice, paprika, ground mustard seed

Good in Gr. turkey:
nutmeg, sage, thyme, celery seed, paparika

Good in beans:
cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne and paprika.

White sauces (like for pasta) always get:
Nutmeg, fresh citrus juice, salt, pepper. I then choose other spices based on what the sauce is going with (seafood? sausage? veggies?).

Red sauces (for pasta) always get:
salt, pepper, ginger, paprika, cayenne

Eggs:
salt, pepper, rosemary, thyme, celery seed, garlic powder

potatoes: