Where do you store backbacks and bags? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-19-2008, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everybody! We're in a new house, and I'm trying to figure out where everything should go, but I'm stuck on backpacks. We have hooks on the wall behind the front door, but it is a bit too tight for backpacks and daily bags. We also have a hall closet, but right now the floor has a shoe rack with shoes on it and boots, also it isn't a very big closet.

Info about what I'm looking to find a place for. DD1 is in K and she has a kids-sized backpack to hold her school folder and lunchbox. DD2 goes to daycare, and she has a bag that goes to and from daycare with diapers and spare clothes in it. I am a teacher, so I bring a school bag and purse to work each day. DH has a work bag, but he manages to find a hiding place for it each night if he needs to store it. He also has a school backpack that he uses once a week and keeps in the hall closet.

My concern is that they get put on kitchen counters and the dining room table and get moved around as we use those areas as the evening progresses.

I'm looking to hear where you guys keep stuff and if you have any suggestions that I can use.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-19-2008, 11:51 PM

Maybe you could put hooks on the inside of your hall closet and hang the packs there? That wouldn't interfere with the shoe racks, and you could still hang things on the regular closet bar.
Old 12-19-2008, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter

The closet is pretty small, so the arms of the coats hit the door as it closes, there is actually a bar in the doorway of the closet that I couldn't figure out what it was for, until I hung up our winter coats on the rail - its for keeping the sleeves in the closet and not stuck in the door!