Mothering Forum banner

Dwellers of small spaces... please help.

1K views 19 replies 15 participants last post by  Princess77 
#1 ·
We live off grid in a small cabin we have 2 small bedrooms, a decent sized bathroom, a fair kitchen and small living room. We have a tiny hallway with a cubby space and one closet. We are a family of four. DH is an artist and musician and has all the supplies needed for his own business in that field. I am a writer and have all those supplies plus a collection of books. We both collect movies as well. Then, there are the girls whose grandparents buy them too many toys. I'm trying to save the oldest's clothes for the youngest. They share a small room with one wardrobe/dresser for their clothes.

I'm starting to try to organize and declutter our place. After a year of living here I'm overwhelmed. I've cleaned out the girls room several times and taken 5 boxes to Goodwill, but it is still stacked and packed. We are storing Rubbermaids with our Christmas decorations in them in the kitchen. We have rubbermaids with the girls clothes in them on the front porch. We have no money for storage buildings. I have containers stacked in our bedrooms with stuff in them that I believe would bring in a little money for us, but don't have the means to yard sale. I hate to send money out the door when we don't have much. The cubby area is stacked with boxes of clothes and stuff.

I would like a Waldorf feel to the girls' room and to our whole home. I want it to feel more like a cabin of old, not stuffed to the brim with stuff and papers, and etc... How do I begin, and not throw away anything that we might/will need in the future... i.e. kids clothes, Christmas stuff...

See less See more
#2 ·
that sounds stressful. i'm going to go through your post and try to catch all the categories of "stuff" you mentioned.