Bathmats gross me out - how do you deal with them? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 41 Old 11-20-2009, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a beginner but dedicated decluttering/ cleaning devotee. I want to know how other people deal with bathmats, and by extension, the bathroom floor.

Our bathmat stays on the floor of the bathroom because the floor is so unfriendly, cold, and slippery for baby feet. After 2 of us shower, or after my son's bath, of course it's a damp bathmat. When I pick it up to drape over the side of the tub to help it dry, it sheds lint, dust, dirt from being walked on during the day. Lately, I shake it out into the tub and rinse the tub with the showerhead. But something in me feels it's not right to be washing dirt down the drain, and yet I don't know how to deal with the bathroom floor otherwise.

I'm doing a flylady bathroom approach, swishing the toilet daily, swiping the surfaces daily, and to this I've added a few minutes on my knees using a rag to pick up the dirt off the bathroom floor corners. This needs to be done more or less daily so there's no visible buildup on the light colored floor. But now my swish and swipe routine is in danger of getting too involved...

I don't mean to obsess at all, but I'd love to know your better systems for the bathroom.

Thanks!

Mom of one child (2008), wife of one husband, tender of dogs, cats and chickens. Household interests: ocean life (kid), bitcoins (husband), simplifying (me).

#2 of 41 Old 11-20-2009, 02:08 PM