Favorite space-saving ideas for small spaces - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-06-2011, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We are buying a new house.  It's 1270 square feet and has a great split floorplan, which makes the house feel bigger to me.  We plan to declutter a bunch when the storage PODS deliver our stuff to the house next week, but we also want to make the best use of space we can.

What are some of your favorite space-saving ideas and products?  My husband is pretty handy, so if you have any built-ins or storage ideas with photos, that'd be great!

Book-lovin', relaxed homeschoolin', dog snugglin' mom of the best kid EVER!  AND...waiting for baby #2, due 5/9/14!  stork-boy.gif

#2 of 6 Old 01-06-2011, 09:25 AM

We moved from a small house to a smaller townhouse with a tiny kitchen and as chefs by trade, we have tons of kitchen stuff.  We try to make the most of space with wall-mounted spice racks, pot racks, etc.  Our washer and dryer are in the kitchen and we have a wire rack on top of our dryer that holds detergent, miscellaneous junk (lack of storage space for DH's stuff means it is full of hammers, cigars, lint brushes, etc)... it is our version of The Junk Drawer.  We managed to make space for the ironing board, vacuum, and steam cleaner in the coat closet... but yeah, we are lacking big time in storage space.  I try to stack upwards to save floor space and as i mentioned, wall mounted stuff seems to be good.

Another thing we did that saved alot of space was got a coffee table with a shelf underneath for cards, games, etc and one of those CD folders for video games, DVD's and CD's and got rid of all the cases that they came in.

I am not organized by any stretch of the imagination but these things have saved space for us!