What to do about books? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 02-23-2011, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We have LOTS of them, do I need to keep them, would I regret getting rid of some of them DH and I studied in HS or college?  Or should I donate them, and when our DSs grow up, expect to have a Kindle where I could get these classics for free.  I'm in quite the decluttering mode and whenever I start on the bookshelves I throw my hands in the air and give up. 

Laura, Troy, Seth 6.24.06 , and Aaron 7.13.09
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 12 Old 02-23-2011, 03:19 PM

I don't know the answer but i hope someone else does :) Im a bit of a book hoarder....at the moment Im aiming for three piles. keep because it bothers me not to. donate and  gift. 

#3 of 12 Old 02-23-2011, 07:18 PM

Keep any thing that you go back to again and again (beloved books that you re-read)

Keep any old/antique books that have beautiful illustrations, are first editions, have a pleasing look to you (DH and I like the look of old books) that ALSO have content that is of value to you. You can donate old books that may be pretty but are not of interest to you.

Ok here's the hard part: DUMP (donate) anything that you don't love  or won't go back too. If you read lord of the flies in high school and LOVED it, keep it. If you didn't love it, dump it.  Books from high school and college aren't of any special value in terms of the editions and unless they are something that you personally will read again or need to refer to from time to time there's no reason to keep them. GIve them to a library or book store and know that they will be read and enjoyed by someone else.

This is coming from someone who ADORES books and is in the process of really ruthlessly getting rid of tons  of them. Lemme tell you it feels good! And guess what? New books always find their way in so making room for the new is always good.