3 Bedrooms, 6 people, 4 kids... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 02-25-2011, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi mamas,

I have to preface this with how I am a terrible organizer.  I'm not really good at this, and desperately need some advice/suggestions/guidance. 

We recently moved into a wonderful 3 bedroom old Victorian style house.  There are 2 bedrooms upstairs--one very big, the other smaller but still a good sized room (fits a queen sized bed, a dresser, with lots of room left. 

The third bedroom is downstairs... not the best room but gets lots of light and would fit a dresser and a queen sized bed... has a big closet (not a walk in or anything, but it is a good sized closet). 

So far we have the 3 big kids (2 boys, one girl) in the biggest bedroom upstairs (and the ceilings are slanty on the sides, so we can't have a bunk bed) but it fits their 3 beds nicely, with a little room for a shelf and end tables).  It is a little crowded but it works. 

And then my DH, me and baby (co-sleeping babe) are in the other bedroom upstairs.

The third bedroom is currently just a mess--it is basically storage right now. 

So here is my dilemma and I really need your help!

Originally we were going to make the biggest room upstairs into the boys' bedroom (two oldest kids are boys, just about 10 and newly 7).  Then my DD  (4 years-old) and baby would share the smaller bedroom upstairs, and DH and I would have the bedroom on the first floor. 

But now I don't know--because my DD is frightened to go upstairs by herself.  She tells me about the skeletons in the walls, and the ghosts and stuff.  If I go up there with her, she will start playing happily, and sometimes I can come down stairs... but if all of her toys are up there in a traditional bedroom she won't go and play with them, yk?