Downsized, upsized and to much "crap" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 06-26-2011, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Six months ago my family and I moved. DH took a new job that afforded our family moretime together but involved me quitting my job (I worked full time as a nurse for about a year, prior to that I was a SAHM). Our transition had us putting out 1850sq ft home up forsale and moving 5 hours away. Prior to the move I paired down a lot.

We moved into a 973 sq ft apartment while having some items in storage and also storing somethings in a friends garage. The apartment was temp. while we found longer term housing. This week we moved into our townhouse 1200sq ft. Whilist packing for the 2nd move I again purged thru and as I unpack I've been really evaluating items.

But all I keep flashing too is my friend's garage with about 30-40 boxes of crap that I packed 9-12mos ago. I'm not even sure whats in them. Part of me just wants to throw them out not even go thru them but obviously if I thought enough about the item to pack it and store it for a year then I should atleast give it the once go thru. Then again we haven't needed it in a year do I really need it?

Pax, loving wife since 2001, Mother of DD1 (12) and DD2 (8 1/2). Entering our 5th year of Homeschooling: Eclectic mix of curriculum and child interest lead. Backyard urban chicken chasers.
#2 of 6 Old 06-27-2011, 01:10 AM
Banned

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

we are in a similar-ish position.

when we moved to NZ, we paired down to about 25 boxes. I have a pretty good idea of what is in each box, because there is a list for each box (each box is numbered, and I made a list -- this is so that it's easier for it to get through customs and such). 

my original plan was to move it within 3-6 months of moving here, but it just never came to be. we've been living 1.5 years without it.