Using mason jars to store dry goods-advice? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 09-23-2011, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm at the end of my rope trying to get rid of an Indian meal moth infestation. We bought a bag of rice that was infested last year, and haven't been able to eradicate the last of the little pests.

To try and starve them out, I've decided to store all our dry goods (lentils, rice, brown sugar, noodles, etc.) in mason jars. Has anyone done this before? Any tips or tricks I should know about?

As far as mason jars go, I'm pretty new to them, so I'm not sure what the best way is to clean them before use. Since my jars are brand new, do I need to use soap in my dishwasher to wash them, or can I just run it on a sanitize setting without soap? I'm worried about soap residue staying in the jars. Will the heated dry function sufficiently remove moisture from the jars? Is there an easier way to clean/sanitize the jars than the dishwasher?

Any advice is appreciated :)

Thanks!

-Brighid

#2 of 13 Old 09-23-2011, 11:57 AM

Well you could put them in mason jars if you have them. Just wash and dry them and make sure the lid is on good. Otherwise I would store everything in the refrigerator. 

#3 of 13 Old 09-23-2011, 12:21 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I run mine on sanitize (no soap) before using for canning, so I would say it's fine.  Add some vinegar to really get any residues off.  Dry them in the oven, upside down on the racks on the lowest heat you can.  I use half gallon Ball jars for my flour and beans :)

DD 2/08
#4 of 13 Old 09-23-2011, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katarianna View Post

Well you could put them in mason jars if you have them. Just wash and dry them and make sure the lid is on good. Otherwise I would store everything in the refrigerator.