30 Days to get the whole house decluttered. Advice and Tips needed! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 11-30-2011, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all,

I am a graduate student, work part time, and am a full time mom of 2 sons (18 m and 6 yrs). I have a break in classes over the holidays. My house has fallen to pieces since I went back to school. I desperately need to use this school break to declutter the entire house. My 18m old is into everything and I have to get this stuff everywhere to a manageable level before I start my next 3 classes in January. Please help! I need a plan, a list, a goal, something to get me on track. I am very self motivated once I have a solid plan. We just have way too much stuff in too small a space. Thanks for any help.

#2 of 19 Old 11-30-2011, 04:33 PM

My big thing was saving clothes.  Way too many with 4 kids.  So I simplified.  I started saving only favorite items I KNOW I will use in the future, like the boys' special dressy outfits.  I got rid of almost all my baby stuff.  I have saved only a few favorite or barely worn items from DS1 down to DS2.  Sometimes seasons are wrong and things don't fit, yk?  I buy and save black snowpants because they work.  I have saved a lot of shoes and boots, I might pare it down some too but like this winter it actually saved me having to buy boots for the younger 2.  DS1 got a pair from a friend, DD I still need to get