Wanting to start over .... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 12-03-2011, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have just completed a 5,000+ mile, 2 month trip in a small travel trailer with 3 kids, hubby, and a bunny.  We drove through 9 states and one province, going from Texas to Calgary and back.  Our home is for sale (didn't sell while we were gone), and we are ultimately planning to live full-time on the road - eventually in a bigger trailer, though - with 3 rabbits and a cat and whatever other furry critters decide to take up residence with us.

Anyway ...

We have returned to a 2400 sf house with all the amenities, and I am totally lost.  I opened my closet yesterday to look for something to wear, after having less than 20 pieces in my wardrobe and wearing 2 pair of shoes for the past few weeks.  Guess what?  nothing to wear!

I have been decluttering for about 3 years now, attempting to get to this point in my life, but I still have too much.  I have downsized my wardrobe significantly during the summer (donated to the victims of the Bastrop fire was my most successful venture). 

I've been doing a lot of thinking about it, and I really like the 36-item-wardrobe idea.  I'm not sure how that will work, in reality, though - because I'm not really a one-color-palette type of person.  But, my other problem is that I have sentimental attachments to the rest of my clothes!  In addition, I am 45 and suffering a bit of mid-life anxiety about frumpiness.  Time for a change.

So, I have an idea:  I'm going to get rid of EVERYTHING and start over, only buying quality basics that will work for mixing and layering.  I will set a budget for shopping and start at thrift stores.  If I truly can't find something I need, I'll look further, but I just don't think I'll need to.  Houston has a plethora of resale shops.

Is this the antithesis of minimalism?  Am I crazy?