I don't have time to clean - house is a disaster! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 04-06-2013, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I want so badly to have a neat home and my daughter thrives on order and cleanliness, but I'm finding it extremely difficult to keep up with housework! I'm a single mom, I work part-time, college part-time, I'm a student midwife, doula, student herbalist, have a garden to keep up with and a magazine I started, and various other projects that need my constant attention - not to mention I have no help from my ex (her father)... he claims he's too busy to help, but honestly, I don't think he knows what busy REALLY looks like. dizzy.gif

ANYWAY, right now I'm broke as a joke, but really considering hiring a housekeeper... is it worth it?!? Suggestions? How much should I pay? I don't even know where to start but I do know I need to do SOMETHING... I can't live in a messy home anymore 

gd.gif winner.jpgteapot2.GIF placenta.gif caffix.gif

Young mama, student midwife, student herbalist, doula, massage therapist.

Aspiring homesteader & beekeeper.

#2 of 14 Old 04-07-2013, 03:22 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Wow, you certainly have a lot on your plate!  How old is your daughter, and do you know any students you could hire to help you clean, as opposed to a cleaning service where they aren't going to do things like dishes or laundry.  Or maybe check out one of the small websites where people bid for services. Sometimes you can find deals on Craigslist, and my niece got a babysitting job that way, but I don't know if I'd feel comfortable.

#3 of 14 Old 04-07-2013, 08:44 AM