Mothering Forum banner

Minimizing, getting rid of or keeping the stash?

1K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  erigeron 
#1 ·
I've been decluttering for the past two years and i find that i have a hard time dealing with my toiletries and stationary stash. I've cut down a lot, specially on the toiletries, but i guess its just the kind of stuff i love and use often, so i'll probably always have some of it. I try to live a somewhat minimalist lifestyle but i do enjoy some of my stuff and i'm ok because its all consumables and it does get used. Do you have a stash of anything? If you are decluttering, how do you approach this?

#2 ·
I like to box everything and this give me complete control over what I want to do and what I intend to do. Boxing helps you find the things quickly as they are like some well organized stacks arranged alphabetically so that you don't need to hunt for more and more time to find those little things at times of need. Do keep a track of things that you keep as a mind map and then you never will have to worry about decluttering ever. Always works for me.
:eat

#3 ·
I think if they are consumable things you should keep them. I have shelves in my basement storage for extra appliances I don't use weekly, and other extra supplies.

In contrast my mom brought 30 little hotel shampoos etc over and put them under my bathroom counter. I will never use those do I should get rid of those.

#4 ·
My scrapbooking stuff is certainly a stash. I contain it to keep it organized and am currently "freezing" myself from purchasing anything other than the basics that I can't do projects without (adhesive, cardstock etc.). I will use the majority of it eventually and it motivates me to create more when I think about one day using it all up.

#5 ·