the simplified wardrobe - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 07-03-2005, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I very much DO care about how I look and like to keep up with some trends. Sometimes I fantasize about going Georgia O'Keefe style with just a couple of black or white dresses.

Tell me about your simplified wardrobe! I am a grad student/future elementary school teacher/sahm.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 07-03-2005, 08:57 AM

I do jeans and shirts - think Lands End. They coordinate easily and I can be somewhat in style. Shoes are birks with hand-knit socks. I do have a pair of khaki pants for when I want to be a little more dressy than jeans, and a nice pair of black pants when I want some serious dressy-casual. My shirts go well with both. That's my strategy.

Tana, wife to Steve (5/02), mom to Ben (7/03), Joey (10/06) and Caroline (9/09)
#3 of 10 Old 07-03-2005, 11:05 AM

I'm no fashion guru, but I finally hit on a strategy that seems to work well for me. I own several pairs of slacks in dark colors: black, brown, gray and one pair of jeans. I have a number of fitted solid-color tops (both knit and button-down cotton) that I mix and match with said pants. I also keep a black 'suit jacket' that can go over any of the tops for a more business-y feel.

I don't wear skirts often, but I also have a few brightly colored skirts that I pair with a black knit top. A few pairs of black dress shoes (for dressy) and sandals (for casual) and I'm good to go.

At home, I'm pretty casual... I tend to wear workout pants and T-shirts, or strappy tanks and shorts (depending on how hot it is).

Several times a year I go through my clothes and jettison any that I haven't worn for a year (or any that don't feel quite right to me). It's gotten a little more complicated since I started a 'real' job, but I own far less clothes than my T-shirt/jean obsessed DH.
#4 of 10 Old 07-03-2005, 11:43 PM