How Do You Get On Top Of It & STAY On Top Of It?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 07-18-2005, 04:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mamas,
I am perpetually embarrassed by the state of my house. I am a crummy nester. We moved in Dec. '03 when I was newly pregnant and we've never really fully settled into this house. (I guess I didn't get that 3rd trimester heavy nesting thing). We still have boxes in the "den" and theres so much crap in there that it never gets used as a den. The truth is, we have piles everywhere. We always "intend" to keep things clean and pulled together but it just doesn't happen. I feel bad having people over. It is a scramble every time we know someone is coming here because its never in an ok state.

I feel like I am a crappy house manager. I am told by others that they see me as very organized and yet in my own home I am a miserable failure. I keep making these resolutions to "do better" but then I get overwhelmed, become paralyzed by all that needs doing, and end up watching TV and surging MDC. : I am terrified I'm becoming my mother - she was the chaos and clutter queen and here I am with a house full of, that's right, choas & clutter.

Tonight my husband suggested that we "just have slovenly tendencies." If only the floor could have swallowed me whole. : We don't have a traditional division of duties - DH is more likely to do laundry & cooking but I pay all the bills and do all the logistics - banking, insurance, retirement accounts - so he was suggesting that the state of things is more his fault but I believe its both of us and neither of us is doing what has to be done. Add the 1 yr old into the mix and voila you have a craptastic household.

I feel like such a loser! I come home and cringe at the sight of things. It is NOT a sanctuary of peace and comfort. HELP!