Mothering Forum banner

Goodwill vs eBay vs TP vs Freecycle vs trash

2K views 18 replies 16 participants last post by  polyhymnia 
#1 ·
Are there guidelines anywhere for what types of items are most suitable for the above places, when decluttering?

I know Goodwill takes used items - but *how* used? No rips or stains in clothes, I assume, but what about stuffed animals that are obviously not NEW but don't have stains/rips/tears? What about toiletries that haven't been opened? What about single items from what used to be a multipack (ie two vacuum cleaner bags)?

I have never used Freecycle before - I tried googling but I'm not sure I did it right. Is it just a mailing list? For some reason I thought it was a message board too.

I'm thinking I can't be bothered with eBay because I have heard that the listings fees are now outrageous. Can anyone confirm? What types of items do well on eBay? I have used it before to sell scrapbooking stuff I didn't want anymore and old electronics but I am not sure if I'd do well anymore without having an official "store", etc. So maybe the TP here would be a good place for things like clothes/household stuff, but I am not sure it's worth the hassle of shipping.

Finally - I know some things will just be thrown away. I am trying to avoid this with things that are still "good" or have life left in them but I don't know exactly where to draw that line.

So I am hoping someone has links, advice, etc. Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·
I find with ebay it's worth it to search for what you are tryig to sell and look at completed items to see what others have sold for. That way I determine if it's worth it for me to try to sell it there.

You are right about Goodwill, no rips, stains, tears, but faded or wear from washing is usually ok.

For stuffed animals check to see if you local police or fire station will take them. A lot of them give them to kids to help calm them down accept them as donations.