Living in a "tiny house" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 07-17-2012, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey ladies,

So my husband is in the military and is set to deploy very soon. We had a really rough year financially and I really want to surprise him when he gets home from this deployment by being debt free. If I can do this, then he wont have to re-enlist and we can move on to the next chapter of our lives. With that said, I've come up with a semi-crazy idea and I need help since I am new to this whole off the grid/country living way of life (the husband is not however lol!)

Here is the plan:

My husband's brother lives on 30 acres. He has chickens, Guineas or something like that? Lol, horses, a cow, and goats. They grow a huge organic garden every year, and they are over all crunchy. Well, they keep offering us to move in with them, and I am just not comfortable sharing space like that with people I don't know too well (We have always lived far away from family so I don't know how well that would work out long term) So here is the idea we came up with.

We are going to buy a "lofted cabin" which gives us about 580 sq feet of space. It's a cute little thing. The problem? No electric, insulation, plumbing, etc. There are two lofts so great sleeping space for me and the kids. 2 older on one side (they are 4 and 2) and me and the baby on the other side (bay is 7 months) I was also thinking of maybe putting us all on one side and making the other side a toy/play area, but not sure.