straw-bale mamas (or wannabes) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-13-2005, 07:44 AM
A&A

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Do you live in a straw bale house? Do you want to? Are you just curious about it? If so, talk to me. (ESPECIALLY if you currently live in a straw bale house, talk to me!!)

"Our task is not to see the future, but to enable it."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2005, 01:06 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wannabe here DH and I have been eyeing up straw bale for a few years now. We're in a 200 yo stone farmhouse now, and not in a hurry to leave it... but they're threatening to put in a WalMart 1/2 mile from us, which we'd be able to see across a cornfield. Ugh. So, if we move, building strawbale or cordwood is high on our priority list!
Old 03-13-2005, 01:32 PM

WE are total wannabe's. Dh has been doing research on it for years and is getting ready to build a straw=bale structure in our yard as a sample and for the kids to play in.

He wants to build out house one day, a straw bale house, off the grid. I am totally cool with that. I just think it will take years of plotting, planning and saving.
Old 03-13-2005, 02:42 PM
A&A

So, what kind of climate do you live in?

Do you think there will be any downsides to straw bale? (Either in the construction or in post-construction.) If so, what?

For example, I just read that the LOOSE straw on your site (while you are building) will easily catch fire, which makes sense. So, you have to be on top of having someone sweep it up, etc.

Have you ever gone to a straw bale workshop?

I'm just trying to learn as much as I can.

Old 03-14-2005, 12:03 AM