The Self-Sufficient Life & A Five Acre Farm - Mothering Forums
Country Living / Off the Grid > The Self-Sufficient Life & A Five Acre Farm
KariM's Avatar KariM 02:33 PM 04-17-2007
DH and I have been dreaming about moving to a homestead for a few years now. I picked up a copy of The Self-Sufficient Life from the library and have been reading it.

The section where he discusses a five acre farm has really got me hooked!

Are there any mamas here who farm/homestead on a small plot, like five acres? Can you come close to being self-sufficient with such a small amount of land?

mtn.mama's Avatar mtn.mama 02:56 PM 04-17-2007
I believe that we can come close to being self-sufficient on small parcels, but this is really more effective in a community of such. The kinds of foods that we buy in town are mostly nuts and grains, some spices, a few fresh vegetables in winter, and olive oil. We choose to hunt rather than raise animals for meat. All our dairy comes from our goats. A neighbor raises free-range chickens for eggs. Big gardens and greenhouses go a long way toward feeding us. A couple of neighbors make soap. We produce our own power. All the logs and lumber in our buildings came off our land, or the surrounding state land. We buy used clothes whenever possible, or make them at home. Can it be done? Yes. Is it a whole lot of work that actually becomes a lifestyle? Yes. Is it all worth it? Yes. DH and I just laugh about getting a condo in town when we're overwhelmed by projects that most of the people in developed countries don't ever think about. Then we go back to work.
Conteuse's Avatar Conteuse 10:06 AM 04-18-2007
There's a book, Five Acres and Independence, that also discusses this. Don't have the author's name handy, but it should be easy to find on Amazon. I seem to recall he had a couple ideas about berry-picking and beekeeping and such.
KariM's Avatar KariM 12:24 PM 04-18-2007
Conteuse,