Um..random breakthrough. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-04-2012, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I may have made a breakthrough. I don't belong here (here, as in this culture) and THAT is why I have such trouble. I am forcing myself to fit into the niche that I have to occupy in order to survive in this world. HOWEVER. I am a writer. I have a very good imagination (don't believe me? let me tell you about my last anxiety attack during which I imagined my son dying horribly in all kinds of ways... yep) and I need to use it to strengthen myself instead of weaken myself.

I feel a little silly talking about this, but I am going to write a story for myself that I can use to escape the mundane. It doesn't have to be something I believe (which is what stops me from any kind of supernatural faith), it has to be something I can rely on. For instance, when we moved into an apartment building and I was dreading all the people and noise, my husband said to just think of it like we were Anasazi cliff dwellers. This shot straight to my anthropologist heart and completely vanquished any anxiety I had. It was that fast and that simple. All I have to do is close my eyes for a minute and see cave dwellings and people living simply around me and I'm totally fine.