lexapro - chest pain, burping (panic disorder) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 12-03-2012, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

hi, i have been battling panic disorder for ten years now. in the last two years it has worsened, with the last few months being absolute hell.

finally i agreed to go on meds, & was put on lexapro (today was day four). all was going well until today.

i am having horrible heartburn that comes & goes, feeling like a stab in the middle of my chest, & burping a lot. i also have pain in my shoulder blands, but cannot tell if it is a sore muscle issue, or related to the other symptoms.

i was having some mild heartburn & burping for the past few weeks, but very mild, & something i had experienced with other prolonged panic attacks. this is nothing i have ever experienced before, &, of course, is making me think that i am having a heart attack. 

my appetite is not what it usually is the past two days. not sure if that has anything to do with what i have already mentioned, or not.

i am trying very hard to focus on breathing, & telling myself that i am fine. i just had an ekg at the doc on friday, & she said it was perfect. those of you with panic issues will know that no matter how many times my husband reminds me of this, i keep thinking that they must have just missed something, & i am going to die. 

my hope is that someone here went through this with lexapro as well, & can tell me how they stopped the pains. also, those of you who have had heartburn like i described, would you please tell me how it felt? i have had a lot of heartburn over the years, but it didn't feel like this.

thanks.

~peace, kat.

mama to ds1(2-6-98) & ds2(7-28-09)
#2 of 3 Old 12-11-2012, 08:14 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)