bipolar - or tell me it will be okay - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 09-27-2007, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dh just got diagnosed as bipolar. it makes sense finally. he has been cycling for three years now and we finally got a doctor who listened to me. so instead of depressed, he is bipolar. here's the horrible, awful truth - i don't know if i want to be married to someone with bipolar. i am crying as i write this because it just sounds so bad and in a big way it is so bad. but it so hard. and the 15 percent suicide rate for bipolars is well, so high (four police offers with their guns drawn were at my house on friday because his old doctor thought he was suicidal, which he was...). my older brother killed himself when i was 16 and i am not good at this. i don't think i have the patience for this. i just don't think i can do this. i have tried for the past three years but i am just so tired. and dh doesn't play an active role in his treatment. i am sorry..:

Legal Mama to TWO homebirthed, unschooled, unvaxed, cloth diapered, mei tei loving, still breastfeeding baby girl 1/14/07 and an intact 8 pound 10 ouncer baby boy 4/5/10.
#2 of 20 Old 09-27-2007, 04:52 PM

Oh...that sounds so difficult. I think anyone would feel overwhelmed with what you're going through. My dh's father is bipolar and sometimes it overwhelmes our relationship because it is just that big a problem. He is in his 50's and only now just (and slowly) starting to recognize that it is and has been a problem. It is a disease, a real sickness, and needs to be treated. Please be sure to take care of yourself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurve View Post