Anyone with kids on Lexapro? (bipolar) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-15-2008, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I need to know everything. My boy is 5 years old and just started on it yesterday.

So if you have any experience, please share either here or pm.

Please do not write about how horrible of a mother I am or how I should try x-y-z instead, I've already done that.

Sorry I'm kind of in a fog about it all
#2 of 4 Old 02-17-2008, 02:08 AM

First of all, I have never heard tell of giving Lexapro for bi-polar. Secondly, I would look for a second opinion. I work in the children's mental health field and every other kid lately is getting stuck with a bi-polar diagnosis but if you look at the diagnosic info, it states that people should not be diagnosed with this until they are adults.

With that said, I take Lexapro myself and have worked with teens who have taken it for depression and I have never heard of any negative side effects.

What makes the psychiatrist think it is bi-polar?

Kim, proud CPS mom to Marnie and my 4 legged kids, Jess, Zander, Oliver, Stumpy and Eddie.
#3 of 4 Old 02-17-2008, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by canadianchick View Post
First of all, I have never heard tell of giving Lexapro for bi-polar. Secondly, I would look for a second opinion. I work in the children's mental health field and every other kid lately is getting stuck with a bi-polar diagnosis but if you look at the diagnosic info, it states that people should not be diagnosed with this until they are adults.

With that said, I take Lexapro myself and have worked with teens who have taken it for depression and I have never heard of any negative side effects.

What makes the psychiatrist think it is bi-polar?
It was the fourth opinion. I wasn't ready to accept it from one person, so I saw 4.
They all said the same thing.