Supplements for mental health - SAMe, St. John's Wort, etc. + low libido question - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 02-21-2008, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am new to the world of vitamins/minerals/supplements/herbs - I am hoping to draw from the collective wisdom of MDC mamas who have BTDT.

I recently went off of Paxil, which I had been taking for anger, anxiety and moodiness. The Paxil worked very,very well, but I gained 15 lbs on it, and it made me feel sluggish and tired. The process of going off of it was fine, I was on a super low dose. I am also finishing my last pack of BCP and once I am done with that, I will take only thyroid replacement medication (I have Hashimoto's disease).

I have introduced a multivitamin (Women's One by Rainbow Light) and a B-Complex supp. with Vitamin C (Whole Foods brand Stress B-Complex). I have been off the Paxil and on the supplements for about a week, and I feel pretty good.

To stay out ahead of the anger/moodiness, I would like to add either St. John's Wort or SAMe (or both - is this advisable?). I also noticed that Whole Foods sells lots of supplements to address sexual health and low libido. I have had libido issues for years and years and would like to try addressing it naturally.

I don't want to overdo it, or accidentally take too much of something or two things that will interact badly. I've done a bit of research and purchased Prescription for Nutritional Healing, and from what I can tell, there shouldn't be an issue with adding the stuff I mentioned above, but wanted to get some feedback from people who know more about this than I do. I don't have any friends IRL who have tried to get into balance naturally, so I turned to you guy.

Oh, and I will be making an appointment with a naturopath soon - just waiting on a recommendation.

Thanks, mamas .

Leeann, mama to 3*magic*kids: DD 1/03 DD 9/04 DS 8/06
#2 of 3 Old 02-21-2008, 04:02 PM

Quote: