My baby smiles at other people more than at me - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 12-15-2003, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time posting although I have lurked here a few times in the past. Dd is four months old, ds is three years old. I am having a total crisis of confidence and feel like an inadequate mother. dd responds more to other people (brother, daddy, even grandparents) more consistently than to me. I don't know what I am doing wrong - other than maybe holding her too much (she likes to be facing out so she can see the world) so she doesn't see me often enough. It's also hard to interact with her as much as I'd like and as much as I did with ds (because he also demands lots of attention). But even so - ds reacted to me the same way. I am now clearly ds's primary attachment so if there was a problem with ds we have fixed it . Any thoughts or similar experiences out there?
#2 of 8 Old 12-15-2003, 10:13 PM

Moving this to Life With a Babe...

teapot2.GIF Homeschooling, Homesteading Mama to DD ('02) and DS ('04)  ribbonjigsaw.gif blogging.jpg homeschool.gif

#3 of 8 Old 12-15-2003, 10:30 PM

dd 2 (5 1/2 months) smiles and laughs all the time when dd1 is around. She smiles and laughs at me too, but I have to "work" harder. Don't worry.
Gotta go, she's crying...
#4 of 8 Old 12-15-2003, 11:55 PM

My dd is only 5 weeks old, but I think I've noticed some of the same -- she seems more likely to react to other people than to me, to look at them and even smile at them. She shows some signs of recognizing DH, but I don't notice the same signs with me.

I assume it's because she's not differentiating between herself and me yet - maybe she doesn't see me as a separate person. Or maybe I'm so baseline, because I'm here more consistantly and she knew me from the womb. Maybe it could be something similar with you guys?
#5 of 8 Old 12-16-2003, 10:56 AM