what age can baby support own neck safely? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 12-23-2009, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hello everyone,

i'm new to the mothering forums so i hope that this board is an ok one to post this question in.

i tried searching around on the internet for an answer but i might not be searching for the right terms.

my question is: at what age can babies support their own neck safely? i realize that the age will be different for every baby but a general age would be helpful. for example, with newborns it seems pretty obvious that its a good idea to support their necks/heads. but later they start to gain some control of their neck but are still a little unstable. at what point is it ok for their head to be moving around a little bit while you hold them (isn't the little movement helping to build their muscles?)

i'm quite a beginner at all of this. i am not a mother to any humyn babies- although i am a mother to 2 felines- but lately everyone in my extended family is having babies so i've suddenly been holding lots of them. i like to lean towards the side of caution but some guidance would be nice.

thanks in advance!

doula. folk herbalist. activist. forest lover. autoimmune. animist. spoonie. library worker. and more...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 13 Old 12-23-2009, 07:40 PM

This link is a good general guide. http://www.babycenter.com/0_mileston...ths_1496585.bc It is a general milestone chart. Of course there is no exact age. Some babies are born already having a bit of neck control, some babies take months. When in doubt, always have your hand ready to support them! Hope this helps.
#3 of 13 Old 12-24-2009, 01:02 AM

I think the average is 3-4 months.

Kelly (28), in love with husband Jason (38) and our awesome babies:  Emma 4/09, and Ozzy 8/10

#4 of 13 Old 12-24-2009, 04:27 AM