air conditioner causes pneumonia or rsv? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 06-01-2010, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My grandson is 2 months and has a stuffy nose. My dil took him to the ped and he said the baby should not be sleeping in an air-conditioned room and this is what caused the stuffy nose. He also said he could possibly get pneumonia or rsv cause the air-conditioned air will dry out his lungs and make him suceptable (sp). Is this true?
Also he said the home environment should only be cooled 10 degrees cooler than the outside so if it's 100 degrees outside the inside should be no less than 90. Could this be right? It seems awfully warm.
#2 of 11 Old 06-01-2010, 06:54 PM

That sounds totally off to me (not that I am a doctor or anything, but still)...I would imagine overheating would be a much bigger risk than (reasonably) air-conditioning a room. Yeah, if they're keeping the room at 52 degrees, or blowing the a/c right on the baby, or the air conditioner itself was contaminated with mold or something, that could be a problem..

ProtoLawyer (the now-actual lawyer, this isn't legal advice,  please don't take legal advice from some anonymous yahoo on the Internet)
Spouse (the political geek) * Stepdaughter (the artist) * and introducing...the Baby (um, he's a baby? He likes shiny things).
#3 of 11 Old 06-01-2010, 08:27 PM

Well, like usual, the dr only gave a partial picture.

Heat and/or AC (or fire places) can dry the air, which can dry the mucus membranes, which can make them more susceptible to overgrowth of viruses/bacteria. Viruses and bacteria enter the body through the mucus membranes, that's the body's first line of defense. If the nose and/or throat is dry, then it doesn't function exactly the way it should, and could more easily harbor viruses/bacteria.