I can't do this anymore/What am I going to do? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 59 Old 07-23-2010, 05:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Seriously. I can't. I won't. DD will not go to sleep without an elaborate, hours long fight that takes both parents to complete, and I am out of patience. I've been doing this crap for 10 months. TIME'S UP, game over, everyone loses.

DD is 10 months, and INSISTS on sleeping on DH or I or next to us. That was fine for the longest time. We sidecarred her crib, let her nurse at night whenever she wanted, all was well. I woke up to nurse her 6-7 times a night, but it's fine, I'm a trooper.

Then I got pregnant. Breastfeeding is now worse. By the third time I wake up to feed her I'm so tired I'm shaking. By 6am I'm hysterical. I don't do well when I'm tired even when I'm not pregnant.

Breastfeeding is horrible for me. Wretched. Breastmilk may be best, but breastfeeding is the worst. I am really contemplating formula feeding for the next kid. I never thought I'd say that, and for the last few days I've been trying not to say it out loud, but there it is. I don't want to breastfeed again.

So we started slowly, gently, carefully nightweaning. I slept on the couch for a few days so she could get used to bottles of milk when she was hungry, bottles of water for comfort. The couch is HORRIBLE. It is a free couch that was a part of our 'furnished' student housing. I get only slightly more sleep on that then I did with her tearing off my nipples all night.

But after 6 days of that she STILL won't sleep with me in the room unless she's attached to my nipple. So we moved our bed out. DH is upstairs right now trying to get her to lay down.