First time mom new to forum in need of help - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 07-25-2010, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,
I am new to this so I'm not quite sure how this works. I have a 9 month old who refuses to eat anything with texture or past stage 2 foods. The only finger foods she will eat are yogurt melts mainly because she doesn't have to chew them. She has 5 teeth but refuses to use them. Instead she gags and spits it out or makes herself throw up while she screams bloody murder. Her Dr says we need to keep trying and if she doesn't catch on she recommends she go for testing. I feel so bad because I know she is hungry and I end up giving in and going back to pureed foods. I know we will never make progress if I keep this up. Any suggestions or reassurance would greatly be appreciated. Thanks!

Mom of DD 10/09 who
#2 of 23 Old 07-25-2010, 08:34 PM

My DD pushed most foods out of her mouth until she was about a year old. Now at 15 months, she eats just about everything we put in front of her.

What kind of testing does your doctor want to do? It's really not that uncommon for a baby to reject solids. If she's doing fine with purees, just keep doing that and offer some finger foods - she'll get the hang of it eventually. 9 months is still very early! My DD wouldn't even eat purees EVER.

As far as the teeth - unless she has molars already, she probably won't be using her teeth for chewing. It's impossible to eat yogurt melts with front teeth, kwim? Babies use their gums to mash up food once they get comfortable having that different texture in their mouths.

A, jammin.gif mama to a boy (2005) and a girl (2009)
#3 of 23 Old 07-25-2010, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter