What to do with a 2-mo-old? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 06-14-2011, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my ds is 2 months old now and starting to spend more time awake. What should I be doing with him when he's awake? Is it enough that I carry/wear him all day and kind of narrate what I'm doing? I worry that by wearing him all day, I'm making him sleep too much. Thoughts?
#2 of 6 Old 06-14-2011, 09:53 AM

I wish I could remember where I read this, but I just came across something about games for that age. Apparently they really like textures--one game was just dropping a filmy scarf on them or letting them touch different textures. Also, dancing! I put my daughter in the Bjorn and dance around (although she does fall asleep).

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#3 of 6 Old 06-14-2011, 10:06 AM

From what I have read, just laying there and listening to sounds/ observing surroundings is enough stimulation for a newborn of that age. You do not want to overstimulate, as this will cause a lot of fussing/crying. I think just wearing the baby around is enough at this age. Maybe some soft singing, or humming, but thats about it. My babes are 4 months and all I do for stimulation  is they have just started to grab at things so they lay under the play mat, they get tired of that after 10 mins, and I carry them around and talk to them softly. Sometimes we go outside and just sit, and they watch the things, in silence.

Me and my wonderful husband serve God. Blessed with twin girls 2/11/11. <3

#4 of 6 Old 06-14-2011, 10:13 AM
mra

How about letting her watch herself in the mirror? My LO loved seeing herself.

winner.jpg  cd.gif  femalesling.GIF  familybed1.gif

#5 of 6 Old 06-15-2011, 09:03 AM