What could turn my good sleeper bad? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-07-2011, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am no newbie to sleep problems- DS1 was a once an hour or more waker for over 1.5 yrs so I have btdt.  BUT, DS1 was always a bad sleeper.  DS2 has been a great sleeper- can do 8+ hour stretches and was usually only waking 1-2x a night.  Since he turned 4 mo he started waking once a night to have a 2 hour giggle/talk fest.  Fair enough, it sucks but it will pass and he was sleeping OK the rest of the night.  Now for the last 4 nights he is up 4-6x a night screaming and inconsolable unless he gets boob and then 30 min of patting/rocking/shushing. Then he is up for the day between 5:30-6:30.

I was literally in tears this morning at 5:30 because I realized that I had just fallen back to sleep from the 4:30-5 wake up.  The best sleep I had all night was 1.5 hours where only DS1 briefly woke.  I had no milk for the baby but a sip and my nips are killing me from this hard all night nursing.  DH takes care of DS1 at night so he can't really help here.  What gives? He is a happy baby during the day, takes regular naps, plays & giggles, etc. Both kids have been happy spitters and DS2 had been getting better recently.  He doesn't seem to have gas.  He has always been a steady gainer- 99% for h &w.  He is on track with milestones.  There is no evidence of teeth yet.

I know many moms go through this torture and I hate it.  Any thoughts on what has caused this new trend?  Should I stop feeding him every time and try to get him to except other comfort?  I am so scared to repeating all the sleep problems of DS1- we have blamed ourselves and second guessing every choice after years of bad sleep deprivation.  Especially the reliance on nursing or hours of patting/rocking to sleep.  DS2 had been able to put himself to sleep when tired and I was so happy and kept encouraging it.